top of page

Academic Partners 

The following universities and institutes are all lead participants within the CHIBOW network. Each has one or more Early Stage Researcher on placement, under the supervision of an Academic Lead scientist.

University of Birmingham (UoB), UK is one of the leading UK research universities, a founding member of both the Russell Group of British research universities and the international grouping Universitas 21. The student population comprises of around 17,000 undergraduates and 9,000 postgraduate students and was named UK University of the Year in 2013. 

The University of Leipzig (UL), Germany is a large research university, which offers education in a rich and diverse research environment for close to 30 000 students taught by approximately 400 faculty members, resulting in more than 570 advanced degrees (PhD, etc.) annually. The Leipzig University offers a broad range of courses and training programmes to promote the career development of young scientists, improving e.g. language skills, project management, presentation techniques or the writing of project proposals. Participation in the Excellence Initiative of the German Federal State and the State Governments has led to increased focus on the promotion of top-level research

Faculty of Social Sciences (FSS), University of Latvia (UR) 

The University of Latvia (LU) (Latvian: Latvijas Universitāte) is a state-run university located in Riga, Latvia. It was established in 1919.


Klaipeda University (UKLA) Department of History in Klaipeda University and Institute of Baltic Region History and Archaeology (BRIAI) provide a research-academical symbiosis: research fellows of BRAI, beside direct research activity, participate in the study programmes implemented by the Department, and the staff of the Department take an active part in research and thus contribute to the BRIAI-implemented research projects ( Institute of Baltic Region History and Archaeology is the scholarly research subdivision of Klaipeda University affiliating scholars, involved in the research of historic societies and cultures within the region of the Baltic Sea by applying diverse scientific theories and methodologies. The Institute, in its activities, focuses on the investigation of the cultural heritage of pluricultural South Eastern Baltic regions in the context of the entire region around the Baltic Sea. 

The University of Silesia, Katowice (UKAT) has almost 40,000 intramural and extramural students at the BA, MA, postgraduate and Ph.D. level students following 46 undergraduate and postgraduate programs subdivided into over 130 specializations. All courses are recognized by the ECTS, which facilitates international student exchange. Internationalization is a priority for the University of Silesia. Our efforts in this regard translate into a variety of EU financed initiatives directed at students and academics alike. These undertakings focus upon the development and upgrading of our research and educational infrastructure and, simultaneously, are oriented toward the advancement of learning that caters directly to the development of the region.Currently, the University of Silesia is running 1,200 of its own projects, in addition to almost 600 research projects carried out in conjunction with various outside institutions, both domestic and foreign, including business organizations. 

University of Greifswald (UG), Germany Since its reconstruction in 2010, the University Hospital Greifswald is the most up-to-date full-service hospital in Germany. Its research centre for psychological trauma research is one of the major German facilities in this area of treatment and research. 

Jan Evangelista Purkyne University Usti Nad Labem (UUNL), Czech Republic The Department of History (DoH), a part of the Philosophical Faculty, is an educational and research institute. DoH offers studies in bachelor´s, master´s and doctor´s study field. The field of Historical Monuments Documentation is Unique in the Czech university system, providing theoretical knowledge as well as practical skills in documenting cultural heritage, especially via modern technologies. 

The University of Rouen was founded in 1966, inspired by the University of Caen, which is considered the academic metropolis in the Normandy region. Between 1980 and 1990, the university examined the question of expansion, and in the 2000's decided to establish other campuses around the Normandy region, permitting more students to study across a wider variety of training programs and certifications.


Ludwig Boltzmann-Institute for Research into Consequences of War (BIK) The Institute, focuses on interdisciplinary research into the consequences of wars and conflicts in the broadest sense. This includes political, societal, economic, social, cultural and humanitarian aspects and issues. Research projects have dealt with Prisoners of War, forced labourers, Children born of War, occupation of Austria and key questions of the Cold War such as the “Prague Spring”, the Vienna Summit 1961, the collapse of the Soviet Union etc. 

Psychotrauma Centre South Netherlands (PCT), Netherlands is a supra-regional working research, treatment and expertise centre offering care for people who suffer from the effects of severe traumatic experiences: children, adolescents and adults who are victims of war, torture, political violence and sexual abuse. We offer professional and high-quality care, and the results of treatment are systematically evaluated. Applied research is conducted with the aim to innovate and improve treatment. As a top-referent expertise institute the aim and task of the PTC is to contribute to knowledge of and evidence for effective interventions and (protocolised) practices for complex psychosocial issues arising from the consequences of war and (organized) violence.

University of Augsburg, Germany (UAU) was founded in 1970. It is one of the new, modern universities in Bavaria, and with approximately 20,000 students it is of a manageable size. About 20% of the German students come from outside Bavaria and at 10% its share of foreign students is larger than at comparable universities. Seven faculties using the most up-to-date facilities available have been established and offer over 80 study programmes. The University of Augsburg has cooperation agreements with over forty universities in Europe, Asia, South Africa, North America and Latin America. There are currently exchange programmes with more than 150 universities throughout Europe. 


Utrecht University (UU) is an international research university of the highest quality and the alma mater of many leading names, academics and scientists who have made an important contribution to the quality of society. Utrecht University boasts seven faculties. Each faculty consists of a number of departments. Each department coordinates the research and teaching programmes of a specific field of science. Scientific staff are appointed at department level.​ The university also has three teaching institutes: University College Roosevelt, University College Utrecht and the Centrum voor Onderwijs en Leren. 

bottom of page